Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

An audio community like no other.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby mylesgm » Mon Jul 04, 2016 8:31 pm

I've got three large aircon compressor units (from split systems) directly mounted on the roof of my building without isolation or resilient channel mounts. I want to isolate them and need the best way to do this. Advice? Products I should investigate?
Myles Mumford
Producer/Composer/Engineer/Sound Artist
Making records in sunny Melbourne

www.mylesmumford.com
User avatar
mylesgm
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1872
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby gigpiglet » Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:00 am

im sure there are specific products, but when i did this at my place (at ground level) i put down a thick rubber "mat" and just plonked the unit ontop of that.
im sure there are more technical ways, and prob more thought needed on a roof.
but the main thing you are trying to avoid is having it bolted directly to your structure.

over to some others with more specific knowledge
Gareth Stuckey
gigpiglet productions:presents:recordings
gigpiglet
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: sydney australia

Re: Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby mylesgm » Tue Jul 05, 2016 11:38 am

Yeah, it's totally exposed to the elements and they don't belong to me so I can't bodge it much as I would like to!
Myles Mumford
Producer/Composer/Engineer/Sound Artist
Making records in sunny Melbourne

www.mylesmumford.com
User avatar
mylesgm
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1872
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby The Tasmanian » Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:14 pm

Hey Myles,
Regupol is the product you need, the thicker version (15mm)
Its a German product made from recycled car tyres, and is designed for machinery to stop vibration.



but you only need 4 small square pads for each unit, to do the job properly (think car suspension).
If you use a mat - then transfer of vibration will happen.
Happy to chat over the phone about how to do it properly (once)

You can purchase 1 square meter, and cut up 100mm square blocks.
Also very handy to have extra squares of it around the studio - for under monitors, bass amps, drum risers, isolating walls etc.
A great product that has served me well for years - for many isolation tasks.


http://www.regupol.com.au/brands/regupol/

Check the pic on the website "rubber fibres with a low density" - that is the correct one
C h r i z t o w n o
The Tasmanian
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1877
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:04 am
Location: Deep in the woods....

Re: Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby The Tasmanian » Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:19 pm

also - you will need to make sure the aircon units are solidly bolted to 2 x 100x50 - or 100x75 joists, then use 4 Regupol pads underneath the joists - 1 on each corner where the joist are resting on the roof.
But - only use 4 x 100mm pads (no more)
C h r i z t o w n o
The Tasmanian
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1877
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:04 am
Location: Deep in the woods....

Re: Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby Sammas » Wed Jul 06, 2016 11:30 am

Depends on how the air cons are mounted, but something here might also do the trick.

http://www.vibrationsolutions.com.au/am ... spensions/
Nath Turn bull.
Sammas
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 972
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 5:30 pm

Re: Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby Junction » Wed Jul 06, 2016 12:45 pm

Is there any way to get them off the roof structure and onto a brick wall? Rubberised isolation products on a flexible surface like a roof are not going to work very well.
Michael Blackburn
michael@junctionaudio.com
Junction
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 4:28 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby mylesgm » Wed Jul 06, 2016 12:56 pm

It looks like they are on built platform extending from the main wall out onto a roof joist. Not sure as I can only see it from a distance and can't get up onto the roof till the installation day. Great huh?
Myles Mumford
Producer/Composer/Engineer/Sound Artist
Making records in sunny Melbourne

www.mylesmumford.com
User avatar
mylesgm
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1872
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby Ben M » Wed Jul 06, 2016 2:28 pm

Idea: Get an extendable pole (pool cleaning pole) and gaffa an iphone or camera to the top.
Take some footage of it while it's running.
Sadly, If it's mounted at some point onto the timber roofing it will be hard to baffle it down. Those things should ideally be on concrete pads.
Good luck.
User avatar
Ben M
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Sydney and Kangaroo Valley, NSW

Re: Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby The Tasmanian » Wed Jul 06, 2016 8:39 pm

Ive done it on 3 units - 2 sat on roofing, 1 was wall mounted.
Each had Regupol pads - all of them worked 100% - not a whisper of vibration.
It works - it's not rocket science....
C h r i z t o w n o
The Tasmanian
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1877
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:04 am
Location: Deep in the woods....

Re: Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby mylesgm » Wed Jul 06, 2016 10:22 pm

Thanks for the info guys. Chris, is the weight of the compressor important? Do I need to find the right weight to density ratio of the pads?

Those other mounting things look interesting too. I like the idea of the extended pole too, I'll try that tomorrow.
Myles Mumford
Producer/Composer/Engineer/Sound Artist
Making records in sunny Melbourne

www.mylesmumford.com
User avatar
mylesgm
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1872
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby The Tasmanian » Wed Jul 06, 2016 10:45 pm

weight is not an issue at all - it does not compress - yet still isolates.
Its used extensively in recording studio builds,
as well as for heavy industrial machinery transferring vibration through concrete
C h r i z t o w n o
The Tasmanian
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1877
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:04 am
Location: Deep in the woods....

Re: Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby mylesgm » Thu Jul 07, 2016 12:06 am

Cool, got a contact there?
Myles Mumford
Producer/Composer/Engineer/Sound Artist
Making records in sunny Melbourne

www.mylesmumford.com
User avatar
mylesgm
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1872
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Air Con Compressor vibration isolation

Postby The Tasmanian » Thu Jul 07, 2016 7:25 am

no contact Myles - I've used them in Sydney over the decades, not sure if they have a presence in Melb.
C h r i z t o w n o
The Tasmanian
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1877
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:04 am
Location: Deep in the woods....


Return to The Turtlerock Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests