Advice needed about cabling to patchbay!

An audio community like no other.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Advice needed about cabling to patchbay!

Postby mavdime » Sun Aug 23, 2015 10:59 am

Hi guys and gals (are there actually any gals on this forum???)

Here's my predicament:

most of my gear uses TRS and TS connections (synths, effects pedals, etc, etc)

I have a API lunchbox which accepts XLR and DB-25

My other channel strips/compressors accept TRS and XLR

Now, ordinarily I have all of my gear connected to a simple TRS patchbay, however I have just acquired a Lynx Aurora 8. It came with DB-25 to XLR(m) and DB-25 to XLR(F) snakes, however I am stuck in terms of how best to integrate it into my setup. My options seem to be the following:

1) Get XLR-TRS snakes to connect the existing DB25 looms to the patchbay

2) Sell the XLR-DB25 looms and replace with DB-25 to TRS looms --- probably the easiest option however seems hard to find good quality short DB25-trs looms in Aus!

3) Ditch my patchbay and buy a good Bantam patchbay with DB25 termination on the back... then the Lynx Aurora and Api lunchbox and connect in easily using Db25-DB25 cables. I can then use my exiting DB25-XLR looms to interface all of my synths, etc to the patchbay.. I already have a few short TRS to XLR patch cables... I could just solder up a few more as needed.

Each approach has its pros and cons... are there any approaches I am missing?

Would appreciate your advice and thoughts on how to handle the situation most efficiently

Thanks!

manny
Manny Satija
mavdime
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 11:05 am

Re: Advice needed about cabling to patchbay!

Postby IanM » Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:40 am

I've been going through a similar thing lately, connecting all my analogue to an SSL Sigma and needing to integrate everything efficiently. I think a Switchcraft StudioPatch or similar DB25 patch bay with a Planet Waves modular system is the best way to connect everything up.
Ian Munn
Merchant Road Productions, Murrumbateman, NSW
IanM
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:53 pm

Re: Advice needed about cabling to patchbay!

Postby gigpiglet » Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:49 pm

without going a fully custom job, i think option 3 sounds the best/ most pro
and realistically not that much more expensive if you shop around...
Gareth Stuckey
gigpiglet productions:presents:recordings
gigpiglet
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1121
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: sydney australia

Re: Advice needed about cabling to patchbay!

Postby a.beck » Sat Sep 05, 2015 11:48 am

I agree with Gareth with the exception that for me, the patch bay would be basically the last place I'd try and save money. Buy it properly the first time, and you won't need to buy it again.

http://www.switchcraft.com/productsumma ... Parent=608
http://www.cseonline.com.au/Patchbays-Switchcraft/

Cheers.
_____________________
Andrew Beck
The Back 45
Erina
User avatar
a.beck
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 2:38 pm
Location: Sydney


Return to The Turtlerock Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests