HPF on console

Are you building something? Share your resources with the locals - for more in depth D.I.Y. head to The Lab

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

HPF on console

Postby Wiz » Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:35 pm

I was having a play today, substituting resistors in the HPF on one of the channels on my soundcraft delta console, using online calculators, listening, running sweeps and basically having some fun.

Then I wondered about using one of the aux pots, as a variable resistor so I could have a sweep able HPF.... I can't be the first one to think of this...


The aux pot is a 22k pot.

The resistor values would need to go between 10k and up to say 82k to cover the range I want... 40 Hz to 340hz.

The way I figure it, I could wire the pot as avariable resistor in series with a 10k resistor so when the pot is shorted I get my 10k, but I can't figure how to get up to 82k....

Any thoughts?
Peter Knight

Cant ego loquemur Latine

http://www.ozlandmusic.com
Wiz
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:17 pm

Re: HPF on console

Postby Sammas » Sun Apr 03, 2016 9:06 pm

Replace the pot with a larger value one? 100k perhaps?

I don't think there is a simpler solution. Slugging more resistors in series will increase your minimum resistance. Slugging any resistors in parallel will decrease your minimum resistance.
Nath Turn bull.
Sammas
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 972
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 5:30 pm

Re: HPF on console

Postby Wiz » Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:27 am

I think you might be right... I was just hoping to use the one in there already..

thanks
Peter Knight

Cant ego loquemur Latine

http://www.ozlandmusic.com
Wiz
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:17 pm

Re: HPF on console

Postby rob » Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:07 pm

can you make the filter sweepable using just a single gang pot? Most HP filters are 2 or 3 pole and require two or three resistor values to be simultaneously changed. Thus you'd need a two or three gang pot.
User avatar
rob
TRM Endorsed
TRM Endorsed
 
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 9:16 pm
Location: Adelaide

Re: HPF on console

Postby Wiz » Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:35 pm

I should post a follow up.

It's all work d out and going.

Joe Malone, helped me out... I have one channel done... And Joe is overnighting the parts to me to do the remaining channels....

I pulled out the aux 4 pot and replaced it ... And that's now a high pass filter that sweeps from down around 35 up to about 350.

Just killer
8)

Joe, what a guy

^:)^
Peter Knight

Cant ego loquemur Latine

http://www.ozlandmusic.com
Wiz
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:17 pm


Return to D.I.Y.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


cron