HPF on console

Are you building something? Share your resources with the locals - for more in depth D.I.Y. head to The Lab

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

HPF on console

Postby Wiz » Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:35 pm

I was having a play today, substituting resistors in the HPF on one of the channels on my soundcraft delta console, using online calculators, listening, running sweeps and basically having some fun.

Then I wondered about using one of the aux pots, as a variable resistor so I could have a sweep able HPF.... I can't be the first one to think of this...


The aux pot is a 22k pot.

The resistor values would need to go between 10k and up to say 82k to cover the range I want... 40 Hz to 340hz.

The way I figure it, I could wire the pot as avariable resistor in series with a 10k resistor so when the pot is shorted I get my 10k, but I can't figure how to get up to 82k....

Any thoughts?
Peter Knight

Cant ego loquemur Latine

http://www.ozlandmusic.com
Wiz
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:17 pm

Re: HPF on console

Postby Sammas » Sun Apr 03, 2016 9:06 pm

Replace the pot with a larger value one? 100k perhaps?

I don't think there is a simpler solution. Slugging more resistors in series will increase your minimum resistance. Slugging any resistors in parallel will decrease your minimum resistance.
Sammas
 

Re: HPF on console

Postby Wiz » Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:27 am

I think you might be right... I was just hoping to use the one in there already..

thanks
Peter Knight

Cant ego loquemur Latine

http://www.ozlandmusic.com
Wiz
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:17 pm

Re: HPF on console

Postby rob » Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:07 pm

can you make the filter sweepable using just a single gang pot? Most HP filters are 2 or 3 pole and require two or three resistor values to be simultaneously changed. Thus you'd need a two or three gang pot.
User avatar
rob
TRM Endorsed
TRM Endorsed
 
Posts: 1011
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 9:16 pm
Location: Adelaide

Re: HPF on console

Postby Wiz » Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:35 pm

I should post a follow up.

It's all work d out and going.

Joe Malone, helped me out... I have one channel done... And Joe is overnighting the parts to me to do the remaining channels....

I pulled out the aux 4 pot and replaced it ... And that's now a high pass filter that sweeps from down around 35 up to about 350.

Just killer
8)

Joe, what a guy

^:)^
Peter Knight

Cant ego loquemur Latine

http://www.ozlandmusic.com
Wiz
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:17 pm


Return to D.I.Y.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


cron