Rack up focusrite pre's from control 24

Are you building something? Share your resources with the locals - for more in depth D.I.Y. head to The Lab

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Rack up focusrite pre's from control 24

Postby msvano » Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:58 am

I was wondering if it was possible to rack up the focusrite pre's from a control 24?

has anyone ever seen someone do this?
or is it practically pointless??

Cheers,
Matthew Vano
msvano
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:10 pm

Re: Rack up focusrite pre's from control 24

Postby walding » Wed Sep 21, 2016 10:06 pm

they are not the greatest pre's, not sure if it's worth the hassle
Mark Ludwig

SHould of been a drummer
walding
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 676
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 5:43 pm

Re: Rack up focusrite pre's from control 24

Postby Ben M » Thu Sep 22, 2016 5:32 pm

I agree with Mark.

msvano wrote:has anyone ever seen someone do this?
or is it practically pointless??


I'm not sure if it would be possible or affordable for what you'd get. So I'm leaning towards practically pointless.
There's so many good affordable pre's around..DIY or branded.
Fwiw my advice is buy a couple of banks of 8 pre's..eg. audient, JLM, Midas xl48's or similar.
User avatar
Ben M
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Sydney and Kangaroo Valley, NSW

Re: Rack up focusrite pre's from control 24

Postby waitup » Sun Sep 25, 2016 12:56 pm

I would agree with the others here. Those pres aren't worth the significant time and money it will take to get them into a box. I'd imagine they're on a big circuit board todlgether too!
Nick Franklin
Record Producer: http://www.nickfranklin.net
In-house Engineer/Producer: http://www.linear-recording.com.au
Custom Built Audio Electronics: http://www.nfaudio.com
User avatar
waitup
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:13 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: Rack up focusrite pre's from control 24

Postby audioio » Mon Sep 26, 2016 11:43 pm

waitup wrote:I'd imagine they're on a big circuit board todlgether too!

I've seen spare parts on ebay. 8 on a board.
David Rodger
audioio
Regular Contributor
Regular Contributor
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:05 pm

Re: Rack up focusrite pre's from control 24

Postby msvano » Wed Sep 28, 2016 9:47 am

Sweet!

yeah cool,

well I think I'll just sell my control 24 for parts then! haha
Matthew Vano
msvano
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:10 pm


Return to D.I.Y.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests