Event ASP8 repair

Are you building something? Share your resources with the locals - for more in depth D.I.Y. head to The Lab

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Event ASP8 repair

Postby Lucas » Wed Jan 14, 2015 5:22 pm

Would it be appropriate to ask for some guidance in the repair (or at least diagnosis) of some Event ASP8 monitors here?

One has a HF driver that does not operate & the other has an intermittent "flutter" in the LF driver.

I don't have a lot of cash at the moment so I thought it a good oppurtunity to have a crack and learn something.

Cheers.
Lucas Martin
Lucas

Re: Event ASP8 repair

Postby rowmat » Fri Jan 16, 2015 12:25 am

Hi Lucas,

I have some experience with these speakers.
I purchased a pair from Ebay around 12 months ago.

They had/have the following issues.

One speaker had a noticable hum.
This turned out to be caused by a diode in the power supply having one unsoldered lead.

This was definitely an original manufacturing fault as the offending lead was bent at 90 degrees away from the PCB and had never been soldered to the PCB. Once the lead was soldered back into place the hum vanished.

Other issues are as follows...

When first turned on one speaker appeared to lack bass but this was in fact due to the tweeter being very much louder than it should have been as it sounded very tinny and harsh.

I've no doubt this was probably stressing the tweeter as it seemed the crossover was not filtering correctly during this condition and I could imagine the tweeter eventually failing if this fault was to continue.
(I would check your tweeter with a multimeter before replacing it)

However after a few minutes the speaker returned to normal but the bass driver occassionally suffered from random subsonic excursions which is likely the 'flutter' you are experiencing with yours.

These bass speaker anomolies generally occured also at initial turn on but often lasted longer than the loud tinny tweeter problem.