The forgotten Roland sequencer.

Moderators: Thirteen, rick, Mark Bassett

The forgotten Roland sequencer.

Postby Thirteen » Thu Mar 13, 2008 9:56 pm

I have been playing around with my Roland CSQ-600 sequencer tonight, thought I would take a couple of pics. The CSQ-100 and CSQ-600 were seriously great sequencers to use with any monophonic, particularly SH series such as the SH-2. They don't seem to be very sought after, but they are worth watching out for on Ebay. Quite simple to use, no screen, 100 note or 600 note depending on which model you get.

Image


Image
User avatar
Thirteen
TRM Endorsed
TRM Endorsed
 
Posts: 1250
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 5:08 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby Chris H » Fri Mar 14, 2008 9:15 am

Great Pics!!
User avatar
Chris H
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 2261
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 11:20 am
Location: Off The Planet

Postby electrofetish » Fri Mar 14, 2008 3:26 pm

Yes the old Csq-600
they do pop up now and then

I like them but not as much as the MSQ700
I have had 3 of the MSQ700, I always wanted to see if it could be modded
I want the ease and the build of the MSQ and the functions of the Alesis MMT8

I wish after programming the paterns in I could mute and un-mute each midi sequence in realtime
As The MSQ also does DCB it controlls my juno 60 perfectly.
If the mSQ also spat out cv/gate I would be happy

I am on the waiting list for the x0xb0x not for the 303 emulator....but for the sequencer !
It really is the 303 sequencer that I always wanted

Anyone elese used the x0xb0x sequencer?
User avatar
electrofetish
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:44 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby Jason Dirckze » Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:32 pm

I'm on the waiting list for the x0xb0x too... it's been way too long
Jason Dirckze
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 10:23 pm
Location: Northern Beaches, Sydney

Postby no-fi » Sat Mar 15, 2008 12:25 pm

I have an x0xb0x.

I agree that the sequencer is pretty damn cool for some things.

But I also don't mind the 303 sequencer as it is.... even if it does confuse me from time to time....
:-)

I've never played with any roland CSQs before.
perhaps I should?
no-fi
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:21 pm
Location: sydney

Postby NYMo » Fri Mar 21, 2008 9:21 pm

hi there,

I like my MC 4b.....but unfortunately its been away for a year getting fixed !
NYMo
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast Queensland

Postby Thirteen » Sat Mar 22, 2008 7:37 am

NYMo wrote:hi there,

I like my MC 4b.....but unfortunately its been away for a year getting fixed !


I have a few spares for the MC-4 if you get stuck.
User avatar
Thirteen
TRM Endorsed
TRM Endorsed
 
Posts: 1250
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 5:08 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby NYMo » Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:16 pm

Hi there,

Thanx for that thirteen(appreciated)...the person who is fixing this it is on this list and is heavily involved in cv and sync :-0

Cheers

N
Y
M
O
NYMo
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast Queensland

Postby rachelp » Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:56 pm

I am still trying to source the Hirose connector cable for the MC4/MC8. I have an MC8 that I can't test fully
until I get a Hirose for it. We've already ascertained it boots up Ok, but can't go further until I find a cable for it.


rachel
rachelp
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 10:39 pm
Location: Western Sydney

Postby NYMo » Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:26 am

Hi there,

Didn't mean you Rachel !!

Is that the lead that connects the data tape bit to the main unit ??
I may have one of those you could borrow.

Cheers

N
Y
M
O
NYMo
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast Queensland

Postby rachelp » Mon Mar 24, 2008 1:51 am

NYMo wrote:Hi there,

Didn't mean you Rachel !!

Is that the lead that connects the data tape bit to the main unit ??
I may have one of those you could borrow.

Cheers

N
Y
M
O


It's the big chunky 60 pin cable that connects the MC to the OP unit!
If you have a spare I would love to try it out and see if this MC8 is still usable.

I gave it to Steve to look at last year, but he couldn't test it without the cable.
I tried around a few places and the only lead I got was on a similar adaptor that has to be blocked
together from separate pieces and I don't exactly know if it is a fit.

I have the service manuals for the MC8 so if the ROM or the CPU is
not fried (and we do not think it is), the setup will go. I can't even tell if my MC has the 16kb (!) expansion
yet. There are only 200 MC8's produced and I believe only 10 or so in use now, so this one is hopefully
a goer.


rachel
rachelp
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 10:39 pm
Location: Western Sydney


Return to Vintage Synth Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest