MOTU VOlta - CV/Gate from digital DAW?!

Moderators: Thirteen, rick, Mark Bassett

MOTU VOlta - CV/Gate from digital DAW?!

Postby rachelp » Sun Jan 18, 2009 2:59 pm

everyone seems to be talking about this:

http://bleep.fdiskc.com/2009/01/15/motu ... n-plug-in/

I have an 828 - I wonder if this is something cool that I can use?!


rachel
rachelp
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 10:39 pm
Location: Western Sydney

Postby OSCar » Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:10 pm

An Absolutely brilliant idea .

Here's another link.

http://createdigitalmusic.com/2009/01/1 ... aphically/

They say it'll will work with any audio interface with DC-coupled outputs .

I dont think my Ensemble does, but will a be!@#$%^& ADa8000 off the ADAT work ?

Thirteen ? Whatcha reckon ?
Matt Lord
User avatar
OSCar
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby Thirteen » Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:15 pm

OSCar wrote:An Absolutely brilliant idea .

Here's another link.

http://createdigitalmusic.com/2009/01/1 ... aphically/

They say it'll will work with any audio interface with DC-coupled outputs .

I dont think my Ensemble does, but will a be!@#$%^& ADa8000 off the ADAT work ?

Thirteen ? Whatcha reckon ?


Using an Ensemble as a CV source? I'll pretend you didn't say that... I wonder if the converter needs to be any specific interface type? The ones that they mention are Firewire I think. It will be interesting to see what works. I suppose the Deadringer could work, it depends on if the control and feedback software can deal with going via multiple interfaces.
Steve Jones
User avatar
Thirteen
TRM Endorsed
TRM Endorsed
 
Posts: 1261
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 5:08 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby OSCar » Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:34 pm

As I posted before.

They say it'll will work with any audio interface with DC-coupled outputs .

So so far its established it works with MOTU interfaces and RME..

So I'm hoping there is possibly a ADAT to Analog conveter that would allow this. (So I dont have to waste my Ensemble outputs)

BTW, I'm really considering selling the CS.
Matt Lord
User avatar
OSCar
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby Thirteen » Sun Jan 18, 2009 7:25 pm

OSCar wrote:As I posted before.

They say it'll will work with any audio interface with DC-coupled outputs .

So so far its established it works with MOTU interfaces and RME..

So I'm hoping there is possibly a ADAT to Analog conveter that would allow this. (So I dont have to waste my Ensemble outputs)

BTW, I'm really considering selling the CS.


You can sell the CS and buy a giant modular to use with the Volta ;-)
Steve Jones
User avatar
Thirteen
TRM Endorsed
TRM Endorsed
 
Posts: 1261
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 5:08 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby Bent my VU » Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:38 am

I'm so glad i didn't buy the Frostwave a while back. This is awesome!!!
Michael T
Bent my VU
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby no-fi » Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:41 pm

not exactly a new idea, but a new commercialisation of an older idea.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-6sv-u3fDw

anyway - sounds like something a lot of people have wanted to be able to buy for a while.
My name is Julian Higginson and I approve of this message.
no-fi
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:21 pm
Location: sydney

Postby rachelp » Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:54 pm

Bent my VU wrote:I'm so glad i didn't buy the Frostwave a while back. This is awesome!!!



I have a Frostwave and I did have my 828 for sale, but I am keeping it now.... I wonder how this will work in with Sync Lock?



rachel
rachelp
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 10:39 pm
Location: Western Sydney


Return to Vintage Synth Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


cron