Korg MS20

Moderators: Thirteen, rick, Mark Bassett

Korg MS20

Postby rafu1210 » Sat May 05, 2012 2:59 pm

Hi, I'm trying to get my MS20 to play a line sequenced in logic via the novation bass station's midi-cv converter. I've managed to get it to track pretty well but the problem is that the sequenced bass line is a slidey portamento line and for some reason the MS20's portamento isn't working when controlled by cv. Portamento works fine when the cv/gate leads are unplugged.

Is there a way to fix this? The track I'm working on NEEDS the MS20.

Thanks in advance.
Dustin McLean
www.dustinmclean.com
rafu1210
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 1:03 pm

Re: Korg MS20

Postby Futureman » Sat May 05, 2012 6:36 pm

I can't speak for the MS20 but with most synths, the portamento circuit is before the CV input.

A few ways around this on other synths..

One is to DIY one. I did this for my minimoog.

Another is to use a Midi-CV that has portamento.

The Future Retro möbius (doubles as a midi to CV) has a wicked Portamento feature.

Regards
Mike de Vrees

Purveyor of old stuff
User avatar
Futureman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 991
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Korg MS20

Postby Thirteen » Sat May 05, 2012 8:37 pm

The portamento on the MS-20 is before the keyboard control voltage sample and hold circuit, so it will not effect any CV inputs that you connect.
Steve Jones
User avatar
Thirteen
TRM Endorsed
TRM Endorsed
 
Posts: 1244
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 5:08 pm
Location: Sydney


Return to Vintage Synth Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest