Akai S612 sampler PSU problem

Moderators: Thirteen, rick, Mark Bassett

Akai S612 sampler PSU problem

Postby a.d.a.m. baby » Sun Aug 19, 2012 2:34 pm

My sampler just went fzzt.

On the PSU is a burnt out component. Other similar components on this board look like brown resistors with just a single green stripe on the body.
Anyone know what these are?
The stencil on the PCB is marked "JW" where these are - clearly not jumper wires though.

Any help appreciated - I can't find a service manual

cheers
Adam
User avatar
a.d.a.m. baby
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:49 pm
Location: Gold Coast

Re: Akai S612 sampler PSU problem

Postby NYMo » Sun Aug 19, 2012 3:28 pm

Can't help with the technical...I'm a Luddite , but I do have a S612 avail !

Cheers
NYMo
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast Queensland

Re: Akai S612 sampler PSU problem

Postby Futureman » Sun Aug 19, 2012 4:48 pm

picture?
Mike de Vrees

Purveyor of old stuff
User avatar
Futureman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 991
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Akai S612 sampler PSU problem

Postby Chinagraf » Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:40 pm

Sounds like it might be a zero ohm resistor which is sometimes used for a jumper wire, but they have one black stripe, not green.
Could it be black and just looks funny? A green stripe would suggest 5 ohms, but I've never seen one of those.
User avatar
Chinagraf
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1599
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 1:09 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Akai S612 sampler PSU problem

Postby a.d.a.m. baby » Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:09 am

Thanks all - yeah looks like you're right Andy, a zero ohm resistor. The casing had deteriorated so that it looked like ash, thats why I thought it was a burnt out resistor. The wire itself is intact and meauring 0.1 ohm or so, so I doubt that's the problem.

More tests....
User avatar
a.d.a.m. baby
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:49 pm
Location: Gold Coast

Re: Akai S612 sampler PSU problem

Postby Chinagraf » Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:33 am

Have you recapped the power supply? That would be my first port of call if it has never been done, although you could check the voltages coming from the tranny first if you know what they are supposed to be as a clue to the issue maybe..
User avatar
Chinagraf
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1599
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 1:09 am
Location: Melbourne


Return to Vintage Synth Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest