Lynx Aurora Work Flow

A place to ask the basic questions, a place for students, newbies, and everyone else.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Zarven Kara » Thu Nov 05, 2015 4:24 pm

Hey guys, just need some help with work flow. My set up for mixing is Daw -> Lynx Aurora 16 -> Summing Mixer -> Aurora -> DAW, so far I have been monitoring straight from the summing mixer but want to monitor post the trim function on the Aurora. Have been have some problems running the mix post summing mixer from the aurora into the external source on the summing mixer via channels 15/16 on the aurora. I just get a crazy phasy mix, anyone have an idea how and where to route post limiter on the aurora?

cheers

Zarven
Zarven Kara
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:13 pm
Location: margate, tasmania

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Text_Edifice » Thu Nov 05, 2015 5:42 pm

Just checking, routing at the moment goes:

DAW out 1-14 -> lynx out 1-14 -> summing mixer

summing mixer main out l/r –> lynx in 1/2 -> daw in 1/2 ->stereo mix

stereo mix -> daw out 15/16 -> lynx out 15/16 -> external source in on summing mixer -> monitors

You shouldn't really need to muck about with the lynx mixer.

If you're getting phasing I would guess you're monitoring both the main bus on your summing mixer and the external source.
Dave Carter

http://www.twitter.com/davecarter
Text_Edifice
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:00 pm
Location: Hobart

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Zarven Kara » Thu Nov 05, 2015 5:47 pm

Hey Dave, that is one option but I was cutting the last stage of the DAW and monitoring from Mix Out -> Lynx input 1 and 2 -> Lynx Output 15-16 -> External In -> Monitors
Zarven Kara
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:13 pm
Location: margate, tasmania

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Text_Edifice » Thu Nov 05, 2015 6:36 pm

Can you explain the external in and how you have your monitors hooked up?
Dave Carter

http://www.twitter.com/davecarter
Text_Edifice
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:00 pm
Location: Hobart

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Zarven Kara » Thu Nov 05, 2015 7:11 pm

Hey just figured it out, I had to pull 23-24 of the mix bus on the cue section.... grrrr. Hey do you know if the trim on the aurora is post output stage? i.e. if I'm mixing without going through the DAW again just straight out of the aurora is that a straight path or with the trim in line?
Zarven Kara
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:13 pm
Location: margate, tasmania

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Text_Edifice » Thu Nov 05, 2015 7:51 pm

If you're going through the aurora (in one set of a/d and out a set of d/a) then the trims on either side will be in your signal path.

I think you can setup the aurora so that you bypass the a/d-d/a stage but you'd still be going through the trims.

You would want your mix to hit the DAW though right?
Dave Carter

http://www.twitter.com/davecarter
Text_Edifice
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:00 pm
Location: Hobart

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Zarven Kara » Thu Nov 05, 2015 8:00 pm

yeah thats it, I want to monitor through the aurora without hitting the DAW so without converting back to digital again and wonder if that process goes through the trim, but by what you say it does yeah? If so why should you bother monitoring through the DAW? BTW are you in Tassie yeah?
Zarven Kara
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:13 pm
Location: margate, tasmania

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Text_Edifice » Thu Nov 05, 2015 8:14 pm

I'm confused - don't you want to record your mix from the summing mixer, and then monitor the result?

If so, you would have to record the output of the summing mixer (a/d stage) then go back out the aurora (d/a stage) to your external source in and monitors.

What are you trying to achieve with by playing with the trims?
Dave Carter

http://www.twitter.com/davecarter
Text_Edifice
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:00 pm
Location: Hobart

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Zarven Kara » Thu Nov 05, 2015 8:21 pm

I wanted to record the result of the summing mixer but monitor at a different stage ie before it gets recorded again. So direct monitoring from the lynx interface mixer i.e. from input directly to output without A-D and was wondering if in that chain the trim is present.
Zarven Kara
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:13 pm
Location: margate, tasmania

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Text_Edifice » Thu Nov 05, 2015 8:53 pm

In the lynx mixer you can un-mute the relevant input channels for your monitor sends – this sounds like what you want.

This should still pass through the trim stages but not 100% certain that this actually bypasses the converters (you can definitely do this via front buttons but this is in banks).

Personally, I would want to monitor the mix as recorded back into the DAW as there could be nonsense happening in the DAW itself.
Dave Carter

http://www.twitter.com/davecarter
Text_Edifice
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:00 pm
Location: Hobart

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Zarven Kara » Thu Nov 05, 2015 9:07 pm

yes the two actually sound quite different so probably best to go with the DAW monitoring. What was the theory behind the variable trim option anyway? Just for working with a tape or something?
Zarven Kara
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:13 pm
Location: margate, tasmania

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Text_Edifice » Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:27 am

The trims are designed to allow interfacing with different gear / gain structure.

From memory the aurora converters are set so that 0dBFS = +22dBU so 0VU = -18dBFS = 0VU on the way out.

The trims allow you to vary this.
Dave Carter

http://www.twitter.com/davecarter
Text_Edifice
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:00 pm
Location: Hobart

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby gigpiglet » Thu Nov 12, 2015 4:44 pm

hi zarvan
to be honest it sounds like you are over thinking/ not doing this the right way..
you seem to be wanting to do a very specific/ not standard thing - but given that you have posted in the "gotta start somewhere" forum im wondering if you are mis-interpreting the way you could do this simpler/ better and if there really is a need to do what are asking?
not meaning to talk you down here, just questioning what your goal is, so that everyone here (myself included - with a lot of lynxs) can assist.
Gareth Stuckey
gigpiglet productions:presents:recordings
gigpiglet
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: sydney australia

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Sammas » Thu Nov 12, 2015 5:43 pm

Zarven Kara wrote:yes the two actually sound quite different so probably best to go with the DAW monitoring. What was the theory behind the variable trim option anyway? Just for working with a tape or something?



You should be using the trims to calibrate the level of your system. It is all about aligning headroom between analogue and digital.

Within a DAW and other digital systems you largely rely on dB Full Scale (or dBFS) to measure sample peaks. You clip these systems at 0dBFS.

Analogue systems use dBu, which is an average decibel measurement of voltage. Analogue equipment generally clips somewhere between +18dBu & +28dBu depending on the piece of equipment in question. +4dBu = 1.228 volts RMS (often rounded to 1.23 volts).

VU is Volume Units... what a VU meter measures. 0VU = +4dBu.

If you were to calibrate your system so that a -18dBFS signal in your DAW = 0VU = +4dBu, it means that when you hit clipping in your DAW at 0dBFS, you would also get incredibly close to clipping your analogue chain as well. If -18dbFS = +4dBu, then 0dBFS = +22dBu.

The only reason I would monitor through your aurora is if you are recording to your DAW. You would essentially be listening to the two-track return.
Nath Turn bull.
Sammas
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 972
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 5:30 pm

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby Zarven Kara » Sat Nov 14, 2015 12:00 pm

Hey thanks guys, starting to get my head around this now. Have been now monitoring through the DAW and not the lynx mixer which helps a lot. I bought my aurora second hand so would like to find out what the levels have been calibrated at, any idea how to do this and also to change it?
Zarven Kara
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:13 pm
Location: margate, tasmania

Re: Lynx Aurora Work Flow

Postby dave01.cooper » Thu Nov 19, 2015 8:30 pm

Send a few test tones either out thru your DAW, console (oscillator section if it has it) or some device that can generate a constant line level that you can meter and back in via your dsub line ins on your aurora. Meter what the input values are via the lynx mixer (new software is actually harder to read the fader values than the older update...annoying) making sure that each send is exactly the same that way if there are discrepancies between levels, you can adjust your trims accordingly.
If you want to get real fancy check what levels different DAWs read your incoming signal too. You'll be suprised at the clipping levels some read at compared to others.

The VT option on the Auroras is bloody handy if you've got another 3rd party converter or for instance, if your 2nd or 3rd Lynx is a direct tape buss send that you want to hit it a little harder or on the way back.

We monitor via our DAW from outputs 31/32 of our lynxs which all appear on our patchbay, 31/32 is then hardwired to our monitor controller but also paralleled to a headphone amp & a hifi system for referencing. Never had an issue and if there has been one it's either been human error with the front panel selections or firmware mismatch from LT cards to different auroras not playing nice.
Dave Cooper

E - dave @ soundmachinestudios . com . au
W - soundmachinestudios.com.au
dave01.cooper
Regular Contributor
Regular Contributor
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:49 pm
Location: Melbourne


Return to You've gotta start somewhere.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests