Mellowmuse ATA and Plugin Delay Compensation

A place to ask the basic questions, a place for students, newbies, and everyone else.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Mellowmuse ATA and Plugin Delay Compensation

Postby DwaneHollands » Wed Sep 16, 2009 3:02 pm

Hi guys,

Working on a mix right now with PT LE 8 and I'm up to around 36 audio tracks. Running quite a few plugins, T-Racks Linear EQ, 670 Comp, Tube Comp, PSP audio stereo, Pod Farm, SansAmp, Maxim, Air Reverbs blah blah blah. + Garritan Personal orchestra (that chews big time)

I'm currently running at 2048 sample size and really at the limit of my Macbook (Unibody 13.3") performance. (I'm still impressed at how many plug-ins I can run on this thing though!)

Running so close to the absolute max of my laptop I would probably be having plugin delay yeah? There's so much in this mix and I'm still a bit of a newb so I'm not sure if I can pick if there's plugin delay by listening to the mix. What would be the symptoms of plugin delay? What should I listen for? Would the compressors be triggering weird or be inconsistent?

Is it highly recommended to get Mellowmuse ATA?
Dwane Hollands

Hollands Print Solutions
www.hollands.com.au
DwaneHollands
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Postby Mark Bassett » Wed Sep 16, 2009 3:26 pm

To check for plugin latency, Option+Command Click the numbers under the fader that display your fader level. The default is Vol, then Pk (peak) then Dly (total plug-in delay latency introduced in samples).

"The delay indicator reports the total delay due to inserting TDM and/or RTAS plug-ins on the track, plus any delays due to bussing audio to and from any external hardware."
Last edited by Mark Bassett on Wed Sep 16, 2009 3:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mark Bassett
Forum Admin
Forum Admin

Postby DwaneHollands » Wed Sep 16, 2009 3:29 pm

ahhhhhh. ok. Fantastic tip! Did not know that!