Waves SSL 4000 Plugins - and TRM 5MIN Auction Tribute

A place to ask the basic questions, a place for students, newbies, and everyone else.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Waves SSL 4000 Plugins - and TRM 5MIN Auction Tribute

Postby DwaneHollands » Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:10 pm

Hi Guys,

I downloaded the demo of the Waves SSL 4000 bundle. Being an amateur I've obviously never used an original SSL 4000 console. But man the G-Channel Strip is fantastic. I've had this kick sound in my head that I've been trying ages to get with different plugins. But this channel strip did it! I used the preset and then tweaked from there. I'm totally stoked with the results. I used it on the bass aswell and the guitars. I was trying to get a lot of energy into this. I'm getting the impact I really like from the Kick and I think the bass is not interfering. I'm liking how the guitar and bass blend too.

Anyways, look like I'll be saving up for the SSL 4000 bundle me thinks. But I thought I'd share my enthusiasm with the fine crew here at TRM Forums with a tribute....to the TRM 5MIN Auction. Put a vocal track down just for you guys. (suffers from sibilance which I'm trying to fix)

Oh, I also bussed the guitar and the bass to an auxillarily channel which had an eq on it pulling down 3-4db from 4K and above and 250 and below about 1-2 db. I automated the bypass of the plugin so that when the chorus starts the EQ is ON to make room for the vocals. I read somewhere that it helps to put stuff backwards without using a fader move.

Of course if something bugs you in it or stands out as wrong, let me know. I'm here to learn!

Long live TRM 5 Min Auctions!

http://www.hollands.com.au/R21Studios/Audio/TRM5MIN.mp3

FYI, this was a 3-4 minute jam me and a friend had. He played the electric kit and I played some very shoddy bass line. A month later or so I started mixing it for a learning experience and re-recorded the bass/guitars. Still pretty shoddy playing. Only really for mixing purposes.