Adat connections without wordclock. Kosher?

A place to ask the basic questions, a place for students, newbies, and everyone else.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Adat connections without wordclock. Kosher?

Postby Hud » Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:40 pm

Hey all

I'm considering a new converter setup and I'm wondering how important wordclock syncing is in practice. I believe adat over lightpipe has some kind of sync built in, so is this enough? Is it a different story at higher sample rates? Keen to hear your experiences

I really don't find the ad/da conversion side of audio interesting at all anymore. I just wanna get it stable and forget it!

H
Hudan_Nuch
User avatar
Hud
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Adat connections without wordclock. Kosher?

Postby Kurt » Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:39 am

In my limited experience time sync over lightpipe works fine with only two units. It starts to get flaky when you add a third.
Kurt Neist
Chief cook and bottle washer - Metalworx
User avatar
Kurt
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1225
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:02 am
Location: Canberra

Re: Adat connections without wordclock. Kosher?

Postby Alistair » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:41 pm

+1 on that. When I added a third unit, I had nothing but problems. Added an external clock, everything has been great since.
Alistair McLean
Alistair
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 11:35 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Adat connections without wordclock. Kosher?

Postby Alistair » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:42 pm

Infact I think I bought the clock off you
Alistair McLean
Alistair
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 11:35 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Adat connections without wordclock. Kosher?

Postby Hud » Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:06 pm

THanks for replies, gives me something to work with :D

Alistair yes you did buy the clock off me! Glad to hear it's going well. I got the clock in a package deal, but didn't actually need it at the time. I'm reshuffling my setup now, so trying to figure out what to get/ avoid.
Hudan_Nuch
User avatar
Hud
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Sydney


Return to You've gotta start somewhere.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


cron