Clicking noise - firewire out

A place to ask the basic questions, a place for students, newbies, and everyone else.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Clicking noise - firewire out

Postby Martini » Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:33 pm

Hi Guys

I'm hoping someone here may be able to offer some advice.

I currently have an Edirol FA-66 connected to an iMac via FW800. Since upgrading to OSX Lion, I am getting a random "clicking" sound being output when audio is being played back.

Any tips/hints/help/friendly advice? Roland claim the Edirol is Lion compatible.

Luckily this is not my mission critical machine, but I'd hate to have to go back to Snow Leopard just because of this problem. But like most audio guys, once I noticed the noise, there is no way I can live with it. ~x(
Alex Hardy
Adelaide, South Australia
User avatar
Martini
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:01 pm
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: Clicking noise - firewire out

Postby Gian » Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:16 pm

check you dont have networking turned on , on the firewire port
Gian Parodi
It's the first watt that counts
Gian
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 9:38 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Clicking noise - firewire out

Postby lonearranger » Thu Jul 28, 2011 9:42 pm

Do some research into speedstep. This is a power saving tech that changes CPU speed depending on the load. Had a similar issue with pc a few years ago.appears you may need utility software, see here

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/21 ... 0&tstart=0

May also be possible via terminal command.

You could check it by using lots off plugins to push up your CPU usage and see if it continues.

Cheers
Michael Luchich
Alternation.com.au
Walcha NSW
lonearranger
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:13 am
Location: Walcha NSW

Re: Clicking noise - firewire out

Postby The Tasmanian » Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:09 pm

I'd re install Snow Leopard if it was me -
There are a few pro audio people i have heard with problems with Lion in the audio world.
Always, It is a wise idea to wait to upgrade your OS when a brand new one comes out, let others go mad and wait for the Lion upgrade.
Or pull your hair out and be a Guinea Pig for every one else.
I only suggest this from 20 years experience with Mac's in a professional situation - and their wiz bang new OS's
Professional working studios, and film editors, NEVER do a brand new OS upgrade for exactly these reasons - so they don't lose money on downtime.
Same with PC's - the first versions are put out for R&D by the public, as they scramble to fix the bugs on the next update(s)
Maybe this first version of Lion should have been called Pussy?
C h r i z t o w n o
The Tasmanian
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:04 am
Location: Deep in the woods....

Re: Clicking noise - firewire out

Postby Drumstruck » Fri Jul 29, 2011 10:24 am

if you're using word clock check the connections / cables - I had a similar random clicking when I had 3 ADACs daisy chained (BNC). Reconnecting the cables fixed the problem.
Ian Dare
Drumstruck
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1537
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:37 pm
Location: Over the hills and far away

Re: Clicking noise - firewire out

Postby Martini » Fri Jul 29, 2011 6:21 pm

Thanks for the tips guys.

I've tried everything I can think of, including the suggestions mentioned here. No fix.

I'm glad this is not a mission critical machine!
Alex Hardy
Adelaide, South Australia
User avatar
Martini
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:01 pm
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: Clicking noise - firewire out

Postby ChrisW » Fri Jul 29, 2011 7:13 pm

What bit rates etc are you using?
Nothing to do with LIon, but my iMac wont do 96Khz/24 bit over firewire. It'll do 44.1khz all day long however.
Other than that I can only echo Chris T.
Back when I was doing film and tv I made the mistake of upgrading computer products in tight time windows one or two times. Always a disaster.
One time I had to submit some music on a Monday morning. During the previous Friday I decided to run picture inside Pro Tools, which led to me buy a new piece of hardware, which led to me having to upgrade the software, which meant some plug-ins no longer worked etc, etc....
It took two whole days to sort the mess out and I finally started work on the music late on Sunday evening.
So now I'm vary wary of upgrades and new software.
Whitten
ChrisW
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1285
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 12:01 pm
Location: Hunter

Re: Clicking noise - firewire out

Postby Martini » Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:12 pm

44.1khz.

All my important machines are still running Snow Leopard, luckily (is that the right word here?) I really only use this Lion machine for iTunes playback.

Saying that, I've just downloaded an update to the "Perian" Quicktime plug-in and the problem seems to have gone away. However, the Perian release notes do not refer to any audio fixes...

Fingers crossed. %-(

Everyones input has been most appreciated.
Alex Hardy
Adelaide, South Australia
User avatar
Martini
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:01 pm
Location: Adelaide, South Australia


Return to You've gotta start somewhere.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


cron