Patchbay labels

A place to ask the basic questions, a place for students, newbies, and everyone else.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Patchbay labels

Postby andygriffiths » Sun Mar 03, 2013 11:58 pm

What does everyone use to print the labels on there Patchbay? My hand writing is to messy. Should I just use a dymo labeller?

Cheers Andy
Andy Griffiths- onthebeatstudios & Andy's custom cables
http://www.onthebeatstudios.com
http://www.andyscustomcables.com
andygriffiths
Regular Contributor
Regular Contributor
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 11:30 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Patchbay labels

Postby waitup » Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:43 am

Depends on the patchbay, but I start with an excel file and spend some time resizing cells until it prints right. You've usually got to spread it on to two A4's. Once the labels are ready to print I've tried a whole bunch of things but the most durable way I've found is to print them out, laminate them, cut them out then stick them on with that super thin double-sided tape. This seems to be stuck on well enough that they wont come off accidentally but they can be removed for relabeling.

I have spreadsheet for Neutrik bantam and TRS bays if you'd like them as a starting point. Just shoot me a PM.

Signex patchbays have a really cool little plastic channel that you can slip a piece of paper under which is great! I think more patchbay manufacturers should make more provisions for labeling!
Nick Franklin
Record Producer: http://www.nickfranklin.net
In-house Engineer/Producer: http://www.linear-recording.com.au
Custom Built Audio Electronics: http://www.nfaudio.com
User avatar
waitup
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 761
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:13 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: Patchbay labels

Postby SYOS » Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:10 am

I've used the Neutrik Patchlabel program in the past. Has templates for all their products but I think it is possible to create a custom template.

Link to the download is on the right hand side of this link:

http://www.neutrik.com/en/products/audi ... nys-spp-l1

And then either slip it into the plastic cover if you have one or do as previously described with laminate and self adhesive.

Hope that helps.
Dan Fittell
Brisbane, AU
User avatar
SYOS
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 7:26 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Patchbay labels

Postby davek » Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:21 pm

This might be considered overkill by some, but I've had great success using a CAD program. Over the years I've built up a large library of templates for all sorts of patch bays, krone block covers, console button inserts and such.. The results are spot on every time and you're not restricted by trying to get around the funny quirks of using Excel.

Other than that, using a labeling machine is great option too - especially if it's the type that can be connected to a PC via USB. Often they come with built in software that lets you line text up according to a ruler, making things line up spot on.
David Kilpatrick
Sydney, AUS
davek
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 8:50 pm
Location: Sydney, AUS

Re: Patchbay labels

Postby thephil » Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:32 pm

I use be!@#$%^& patch bays so they dont have the plastic sleve thingies but i found this guy:

http://www.thegatesofdawn.ca/wordpress/ ... 00_labels/

anyway his template works a treat. Instead of using photo paper i use a label which is thicker than normal paper but you can peel of the back to reveal a sticky side.

hope it helps
Phil Eades

Talking about music is like dancing about architecture
thephil
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 8:23 am
Location: Port Massive


Return to You've gotta start somewhere.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest