Testing a Yamaha TG33

A place to ask the basic questions, a place for students, newbies, and everyone else.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Testing a Yamaha TG33

Postby SpindleSound » Tue Mar 05, 2013 5:22 pm

Hi guys,
I recently dug up an old Yamaha TG33 synthesiser that I'm interested in getting working. However being a synth newby I'm a little lost as to how to control it. I have a Novation keyboard MIDI controller; however by the looks of the TG33 manual I will need to use a MIDI sequencer between that and the TG33 in order to get output?
Directly triggering from the Novation or from MIDI output in Pro Tools via an M-Audio USB interface hasn't been successful so far.
Any help will be greatly appreciated, thanks!
Sam Marshall
SpindleSound
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:07 pm

Re: Testing a Yamaha TG33

Postby Thirteen » Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:40 pm

You can play it directly via MIDI with your Novation if you assign MIDI channels to the voices that you want to hear, using a DAW will give you more access if you want to use the drums at the same time as playing synth sounds.
Steve Jones
User avatar
Thirteen
TRM Endorsed
TRM Endorsed
 
Posts: 1261
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 5:08 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Testing a Yamaha TG33

Postby headman » Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:20 pm

Make sure you have gone from the midi out socket in the Novation to the midi in of the Yamaha.....we have all, at some stage, patched the wrong way around!!!!

headman
Richard Anthony Heads
Ars Longa, Vita Brevis
headman
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 6:39 pm
Location: Hunter Valley NSW

Re: Testing a Yamaha TG33

Postby SpindleSound » Tue Mar 05, 2013 9:52 pm

Thanks very much for the response fellahs! I'll experiment a bit more and try to nut it out now that I know I have all the tools I need.
Sam Marshall
SpindleSound
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:07 pm

Re: Testing a Yamaha TG33

Postby NYMo » Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:24 pm

There is a demo mode on the tg 33...that's the easiest way to hear whether it works.
Just connect an audio cable from the audio outs.
Presets have a lovely patch called "Matrix" something.
I used the TG 33 for years ..I found it very versatile .
( you can get the manual if you search Yamaha USA)



Cheers
John NYMo Nyman

Not too old to Rock n Roll...not too young to die !
NYMo
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast Queensland


Return to You've gotta start somewhere.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest