Digidesign 002 firewire blown chip

A place to ask the basic questions, a place for students, newbies, and everyone else.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Digidesign 002 firewire blown chip

Postby PRINCETOWN » Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:43 am

question,wondering if any one has gone down the path of repairing a blown firewire chip on a 002 (no 1394 light), if it is only the chip surely this can be replaced without costing huge $ anyone have any idea of cost of this repair at a Qualified Digidesign service centre?
Tony Peel,obssesive compulsive gear collector
PRINCETOWN
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 6:09 pm
Location: warrnambool victoria

Re: Digidesign 002 firewire blown chip

Postby tony » Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:25 pm

May sound stupid, but are you sure the chip is blown? I have had that problem on a few 002's and the rack versions with the FireWire misbehaving like you describe. It is userally just a lose ribbon cable that likes to slightly unseat itself.unpluginging and replugging them useral fixed it temperally, a bit of glue is a longer solution.
Tony Brumpton
Tone Black Productions
http://www.toneblack.com
tony
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 7:04 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Digidesign 002 firewire blown chip

Postby PRINCETOWN » Fri Dec 27, 2013 8:02 am

thanks Tony, u were spot on up & running
Tony Peel,obssesive compulsive gear collector
PRINCETOWN
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 6:09 pm
Location: warrnambool victoria


Return to You've gotta start somewhere.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


cron