Talkback Workaround.

A place to ask the basic questions, a place for students, newbies, and everyone else.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Talkback Workaround.

Postby Vic » Tue Feb 25, 2014 7:32 pm

So, if I had something like a Phoenix Nicerizer that my mixes were summing through ,and was happy to use that for my monitor-ing for the time being, is there a work around to add talkback into the system without going to a full blown monitor controller?

Vic
Vic
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Birrego, Nsw (6 hours to Sydney, 4 hours to Melbourne)

Re: Talkback Workaround.

Postby Chinagraf » Tue Feb 25, 2014 8:13 pm

What DAW are you using Vic?
User avatar
Chinagraf
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1599
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 1:09 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Talkback Workaround.

Postby Vic » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:16 pm

Hi,

I'm just new to Protools from Digital Performer.

Vic
Vic
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Birrego, Nsw (6 hours to Sydney, 4 hours to Melbourne)

Re: Talkback Workaround.

Postby Vic » Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:41 pm

It is starting to make sense now.

I can either have a mic plugged into a spare channel with an on.off switch, or bring out a separate headphone amp which has a talkback option.

Ahhhhh.

Vic
Vic
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Birrego, Nsw (6 hours to Sydney, 4 hours to Melbourne)

Re: Talkback Workaround.

Postby Ben M » Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:49 pm

My first thought was (if it's temporary) set up talkback on an aux track in PT. Input your talkback mic and use mute to switch on/off.
User avatar
Ben M
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1907
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Sydney and Kangaroo Valley, NSW

Re: Talkback Workaround.

Postby Vic » Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:10 pm

Thanks Ben and Andy,

Problem solved.

Ta

:-)

Vic
Vic
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Birrego, Nsw (6 hours to Sydney, 4 hours to Melbourne)

Re: Talkback Workaround.

Postby Chinagraf » Fri Feb 28, 2014 4:15 pm

Yeah Vic, the drag with PT is there isn't dedicated monitor section so you can't get the software to dim when you use the talkback automatically like you can in something like Cubase.
I use a separate headphone amp and assign my whole mix out 2 sets of outputs at the same time. ie outs 1&2 feed the speakers and outs 3&4 feed the HP amp. The create an Aux track with the talkback input on the converters as the input for the aux channel and the ouput only goes to outs 3&4, so the talkback doesn't come out the speakers and only goes to the HP amp. I use Avid controllers, so I can lock one channel to be in front of me and I just use the mute button on the controller to turn the talkback on and off.
Massey make a mac plugin that runs your talkback as auto but it is only RTAS om the link I have :
http://diamond.he.net/~smassey/plugin.html
User avatar
Chinagraf
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1599
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 1:09 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Talkback Workaround.

Postby Vic » Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:54 pm

Hi Andy,

i am about to install some Avid controllers so will try this method, thanks for the tip !!!

Vic
Vic
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Birrego, Nsw (6 hours to Sydney, 4 hours to Melbourne)

Re: Talkback Workaround.

Postby Drumstruck » Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:30 am

Being an OTB guy the talkback thing for ITB never occurred to me.... but after some thought, would this work for ITB?

..... set up a template for a talkback buss mix where the audio channels send ndB lower than the talkback channel and route that buss output to your headphones amp / studio spkrs - when you want to talkback just solo that channel..... import that channel template to whatever session needs it (channel / bank templates work in Reaper, not sure about PT).
Ian Dare
Drumstruck
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1537
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:37 pm
Location: Over the hills and far away


Return to You've gotta start somewhere.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


cron