Selecting amp for studio Monitors

A place to ask the basic questions, a place for students, newbies, and everyone else.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Selecting amp for studio Monitors

Postby Vic » Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:51 am

Hi,

I am needing to buy an amp for my Dynaudio bm5 monitors.

And I realise, I don't really know how to select the best amp for my monitors.

Any advice out there?

Vic
Vic
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Birrego, Nsw (6 hours to Sydney, 4 hours to Melbourne)

Re: Selecting amp for studio Monitors

Postby Alastair Reynolds » Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:37 am

Bryston, QSC, even an old Phase Linear 400 or Quad 405 .
Personally I find Mosfets a bit harsh.
Alastair Reynolds
Broadcast Radio Engineer
Master of the Dark Arts (Broadcast)
User avatar
Alastair Reynolds
TRM Endorsed
TRM Endorsed
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Selecting amp for studio Monitors

Postby Junction » Tue Jul 08, 2014 3:42 pm

.. and I would say, bigger the better, you dont want your amp to clip, can never have too much headroom
Michael Blackburn
michael@junctionaudio.com
Junction
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 4:28 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Selecting amp for studio Monitors

Postby Thirteen » Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:58 pm

I agree, I would buy a larger power amp, at lest 180W RMS per channel. The more the better as long as you set up your gain stages correctly.
Steve Jones
User avatar
Thirteen
TRM Endorsed
TRM Endorsed
 
Posts: 1264
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 5:08 pm
Location: Sydney


Return to You've gotta start somewhere.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


cron