Tracking across multiple converters.

Let's talk about kits and mics, new and old. What are you using? What do you want? What's the difference?

Moderators: ChrisW, rick, Mark Bassett

Tracking across multiple converters.

Postby Wiz » Sun May 26, 2013 9:06 am

I thinking last night about, tracking drums across multiple converters...something I have never done.

Imagine, you have two converters, one of them a two channel, and the other whatever else you need channel wise.


Would you just track and adjust listening to both converters, and adjust for phase as normal?

would you use the two channel, on the stereo overheads? ( eg, not split the overheads across converters)

would you not use two converters period.
Peter Knight

Cant ego loquemur Latine

http://www.ozlandmusic.com
Wiz
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:17 pm

Re: Tracking across multiple converters.

Postby gigpiglet » Sun May 26, 2013 10:40 am

i guess i would try and avoid it. BUT if i needed to, it wouldnt bother me.
are you worried about the inherent latency of the conversion, and that the two would be different?
i think you are talking about such a small number that its really not going to hurt you.
every channel is being converted, and that takes time, one brand to the next, is that time that different?
certainly a lot smaller difference then say - moving a mic 6 inches.
so - move your mics around till you get the sound you want, and track away!
Gareth Stuckey
gigpiglet productions:presents:recordings
gigpiglet
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: sydney australia

Re: Tracking across multiple converters.

Postby Ben M » Sun May 26, 2013 2:58 pm

Peter providing you're syncing with a clock as master over the two (or three) converters the difference should be nominal, if not non-existent.
User avatar
Ben M
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Sydney and Kangaroo Valley, NSW

Re: Tracking across multiple converters.

Postby Wiz » Sun May 26, 2013 3:40 pm

Thanks both for your replies.....
Peter Knight

Cant ego loquemur Latine

http://www.ozlandmusic.com
Wiz
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:17 pm

Re: Tracking across multiple converters.

Postby NathS101 » Mon May 27, 2013 11:16 pm

Following on from the Burl thread, I haven't actually tried using it when tracking drums.
In thinking about it previously, I'd like to try it on the room mics. I'm sure it would sound big and have lots of depth. In that case any delay wouldn't matter as much I guess...
Nath Steele
Channel 9 Post Production Engineer
Overtone Recordings Producer/Engineer
NathS101
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:43 pm
Location: Baulkham Hills, Sydney

Re: Tracking across multiple converters.

Postby Damien » Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:18 pm

there is a difference, and will be. so choose what goes where wisely..
we have Lynx 16, Apogee 16 and AU2912 all into profools HD.. they are all different.

i try and make all the same things go into the same converter. drums ALL in to 1 of the 16 channel ones.

if you have to use both make sure the same thinks go into 1. if you have 2 kick mics, or 2 snare mics put them into the same converter, or both over heads / rooms etc.. dont have snare top in one and snare bottom in the other..

yes you can argue that the difference will be tiny, but we has issues..i had 2 snare top mics that would not lock (dont ask why we HAD to do this.) the mics had to be about 2" apart to "look" the same, but obviously wont sound the same...
Damien Young
Pony Music
03 9702 3244
0412 354 254
Damien
Regular Contributor
Regular Contributor
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 5:02 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Tracking across multiple converters.

Postby gigpiglet » Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:19 pm

damien
i think you are basically saying that different converters may (do) have different latency
ie: if you are moving something 2" (i.e., delaying it very slightly) to make things matched up - all you are saying is that one converter is "faster" than the other
right?
Gareth Stuckey
gigpiglet productions:presents:recordings
gigpiglet
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: sydney australia

Re: Tracking across multiple converters.

Postby Damien » Thu Nov 07, 2013 2:09 pm

im saying different converters dont "track" each other. it may be delay, phase (not just later in time), transient response etc.. same as different pres and mics. it all depends on what is in them and what the designer thinks is important.

its not a bad thing either.. im just aware of our 3 flavors and what it seems to do.
Damien Young
Pony Music
03 9702 3244
0412 354 254
Damien
Regular Contributor
Regular Contributor
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 5:02 am
Location: Melbourne


Return to Recording Drums?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


cron