D&R consoles who's got one?

An audio community like no other.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

D&R consoles who's got one?

Postby Paul Maybury » Fri Sep 15, 2017 2:27 pm

Inspired by the Neotek thread, I thought I'd throw this out there.
I would be particularly be interested to talk to anyone who has an Octagon, especially in regard to spare parts and automation.
Paul
Paul Maybury
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 669
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:07 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: D&R consoles who's got one?

Postby Text_Edifice » Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:59 pm

I do, little 24 channel. It's very flexible, very useful eq, great, but a fixer-upper.

The biggest gripe I have with it is it's a bit fussy about headroom.
Dave Carter

http://www.twitter.com/davecarter
Text_Edifice
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:00 pm
Location: Hobart

Re: D&R consoles who's got one?

Postby Paul Maybury » Fri Sep 15, 2017 4:09 pm

Is that an Octagon? Mine has headroom for days. Until it runs out and then, CRUNCH. And not in a pleasant way.
Paul
Paul Maybury
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 669
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:07 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: D&R consoles who's got one?

Postby Text_Edifice » Fri Sep 15, 2017 8:30 pm

Stylyx, but that description sounds right. Headroom, until there isn't.
Dave Carter

http://www.twitter.com/davecarter
Text_Edifice
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:00 pm
Location: Hobart

Re: D&R consoles who's got one?

Postby rowmat » Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:07 pm

Paul,

Is your Octagon running VCA faders?
If so what type of automation does it have?
My Neotek is VCA and I think it orginally used Optifile Automation but I'm not certain.
There's a few people out there working on DAW based VCA and/or motorised console fader systems.
DAW control of an analog console's volume and muting would be something quite a few would be interested in I'm sure.
The issue is the number of different systems and of course the likely high cost.

Rowan
rowmat
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:57 am

Re: D&R consoles who's got one?

Postby Paul Maybury » Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:38 pm

Hi Rowan, it uses D&R's PowerVCA automation. It works, just haven't gone very deep with it. Lazy I guess.
Someone has already found a way to make a version of PowerVCA work with a DAW.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvU3IcdhIZM
Pretty cool.
Paul
Paul Maybury
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 669
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:07 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: D&R consoles who's got one?

Postby rowmat » Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:34 pm

Looks great!

Paul Maybury wrote:Hi Rowan, it uses D&R's PowerVCA automation. It works, just haven't gone very deep with it. Lazy I guess.
Someone has already found a way to make a version of PowerVCA work with a DAW.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvU3IcdhIZM
Pretty cool.
Paul
rowmat
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:57 am


Return to The Turtlerock Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest