What have you noticed changed in the last 10 years

An audio community like no other.

Moderators: rick, Mark Bassett

Postby rick » Sun Mar 29, 2020 1:58 pm

When I started this forum before the 2000 olympics lots of things where on the cards that are extinct now .. Adats Mackies dats cdrs
& No affordable automation that worked there were f@#$ all daws and the mystery called eBay was just upon us .
We all still used tape , I was buying neve consoles for $1000and vintage tube Neumanns for under 2 k
So much has changed, lots of the names I am seeing In The reboot log where absolute beginners back then
And now are well established studio legends .

Maybe we can’t talk and discover old gear and hidden gems anymore maybe that’s all covered out there

But tell me ( outside of the unnamed reason the world has shut down )

What trends have developed in your work practice that you never did 10 years back ?
What do your clients expect you to do that can’t pay the bills
What does pay the bills
Did you walk off to get a “ real job “

I do so many different things to get through , I can’t imagine anybody else is still a one hat only audio type ?

Thoughts ?
Rick O'Neil
I think we went to different schools together
turtlerockmastering.com
we listen
rick

Re: What have you noticed changed in the last 10 years

Postby Wiz » Sun Mar 29, 2020 7:10 pm

Geeze 2000.....

Was getting more money then for performing live than now...... not adjusted for inflation either....

I think I had gotten my first digital recording gear, AW4416 and seriously started getting into recording...had the Ta@#$% port studio since 87