Page 1 of 2

turtlerock vs http://www.diskfaktory-mastering.com

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 2:55 pm
by rick
http://www.diskfaktory.com/
http://www.diskfaktory-mastering.com/

www.turtlerockmastering.com

is is just me or is this kind of thing just wrong !


please feel free to use these links anywhere you can , apparently they have no problem with how small the internet is

and you lurkers please have a go as well the more times in the more places the sooner they will find out how cheating your clients works out

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:00 pm
by smash
Geez...

I don't understand? Why go to the trouble of designing a reasonably looking website, and then blow any credibility by such a cheap stunt?

I will be telling everyone I know.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:07 pm
by OzDrum
nasty.. someone's gonna get in trouble over that!!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:14 pm
by rick
their is only one reason to do something like these guys have done
http://www.diskfaktory.com/
http://www.diskfaktory-mastering.com/

www.turtlerockmastering.com

and it not an honesty streak

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:14 pm
by astrovic
I don't see what the issue is - they have 7 lights above their console, TR only has five. Totally different. Not to mention the mad-arse neon lit guitar image on the back wall. That thing screams credibility.

Idiots.

But what strikes me as truly sad is that in all the bumpf on their site, not once do they tell you who these mastering engineers are that belong to the ears that are going to be working all the magic on your music. Ya wouldn't think that's important, would ya?

Oh, and how much does a cracked copy of Waves Renaissance Bundle cost these days?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:19 pm
by smash
Thread posted on Gearslutz.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:23 pm
by heathen
What a jerk, why? I don't get it.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:26 pm
by Guest
Surely there are better ways to scam people than this.

Or even sadder maybe they are trying to do mastering and thought this would help.

I could post some photos of Uluru and sell tours of my back yard, the grass is dead thats the same thing isn't it. People will see though it very fast.

Very sad.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:51 pm
by wez
i've had the text on my website ripped off, and the design and layout copied. once even by a reputable business. can't do anything about that, even though it pissed me off as i'd spent a hell of a lot of time on it. best thing to do is just keep updating it!

but actually stealing a picture... whole other story. can't really do much about them misleading people, but you can do something about the unauthorised use of copyrighted materials. a quick note explaining that you've referred it to your lawyers (or an actual letter from your lawyer!) should put a stop to it.

the web is not the free-for-all people think it is. the rules of copyright apply.

BTW nice article & photo in The Age (and SMH I presume) on the weekend.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:10 pm
by Bent my VU
What's the bet it's some douchebag with a bunch of waves cracks

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:21 pm
by rick
the photographer who owns the photo who shot my studio ( and owns the rights across north america) is serving them with a bill for use from his US agent - its a pay up or shut up kind of deal but who knows how long that will take.
but there is little i can do except feel ripped off
so help us if you can
this kind of behaviour is just dishonest

www.diskfaktory.com/
http://www.diskfaktory-mastering.com/

www.turtlerockmastering.com

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:25 pm
by rick
hey smash can you link the gearslutz thread back here?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:32 pm
by smash
Hey - the Gearslutz thread has been locked - the admin guys just want to check that I'm not flaming.

The link is:

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/masterin ... hread.html


For those that way inclined, there is also a facebook group...

Just do a search for "Boycott DiskFaktory"

Nothing like a little grass roots action.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:59 pm
by SNJ Studio
My jaw dropped when I saw this..

I been in that room heaps of times and I aint never travelled overseas!!!

Gentlemen, ignite your ebombs.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:03 pm
by heathen
smash wrote:Thread posted on Gearslutz.


Gearslutz admin closed it already for some reason.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:27 pm
by smash
I think GS Admin just wants to check it for themselves.

The link is:

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/masterin ... hread.html

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:40 pm
by smash
Not to mention the blatant attempt at ripping off the THX "Deep Note".

The THX deep note is actually trademarked...

I emailed THX about that one...

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:56 pm
by Ausrock
Posted at HR.com and Recordingproject................Smash, apologies but I just cut and pasted your Slutz post.

ChrisO

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 7:29 pm
by smash
Just another thing to note...

( edited by rick to keep the scene clean....)
you can order disks from Diskfaktory directly through the musiciansfriend website.

I've just emailed them and asked why they are supporting a company that so flagrantly ignores copyright and intellectual property.

I would encourage you to do the same.

Also bring it up on as many forums as you can, I'm sure that musiciansfriend doesn't want the negative publicity, hit em where it hurts, in the hip pocket.

Smash.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 7:47 pm
by rick
chris can you link it back here.?
every bit helps

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 7:54 pm
by Ausrock

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:03 pm
by rick
hey i dont care to drag musicians friend ,guitar center or anybody else who does business with these guys into this
thats their business not mine

but really check out what diskfactory have done !
this kind of behaviour is just dishonest

www.diskfaktory.com/
http://www.diskfaktory-mastering.com/

www.turtlerockmastering.com

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:40 pm
by heathen
Yeah go get em Rick, unbelievable. I thought someone was taking the p!ss but seems as if they must take themselves seriously.

Lowest common denominator.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:07 pm
by TimS
That is blatant copying!!
Sic 'em Rex... errrr.. Rick..

T..

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 11:34 pm
by smash
Gearsluts thread is live again...

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/masterin ... hread.html

Comment away !!!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 11:38 pm
by Aearth
Gee Rick what a coincidence that you guys have the same photo. Wow how freaky is that.

nIC

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 11:56 pm
by rick
too freaky for words anybody got a virtual baseball bat plug in ..?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:14 am
by Adam Dempsey
Glad I sensed that photo was immediately familiar, Rick.

There's also this thread.

Adam
myspace
*hears a distant echoing: Power to the people...*

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:19 am
by jkhuri44
u could always send them a 2496 wav posing as a client...with a virus...

... :shock:

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:34 am
by smash
You could always just report them here....

http://www.ic3.gov/default.aspx

FBI Cybercrime division